6th Month: It’ll Sink In When I See Her

I’m feeling guilty for not feeling like a father yet, but everyone I’ve said this to says “it’s okay, a Daddy needs to first hold his child, then it kicks in” or something along those lines.

I’ve many times shared with Wifey how I don’t feel 34, I feel 25 or younger. Downing a glucosamine tablet, I’d tell her proudly how “still in shape” I am, all the while massaging my creaking knees.

I don’t want to be an out of shape Dad like so many men once they have kids, but I don’t want to miss her first cuss word because I was busy lifting weights instead of her.

I’ve loss the mind and body connection, but reality is like an ugly tourniquet. Some way, somehow, I’ll keep up with my daughter.

Leave a Reply

