Take Me To The Playground!

Seen on Facebook  – When I was a kid, I didn’t have a laptop, iPod, Blackberry, PS3 or iPad. I played outside with friends, bruised my knees, made up adventurous fantasies and played hide and seek. I ate what my mom made and KFC was a treat. I would think twice before I said “no” to my parents. Life wasn’t hard, it was great and I survived. Kids these days are spoiled.

While I TOTALLY agree… isn’t it the parents fault? I let Rylen play with my iPhone and when I get an iPad I’m likely to let her use that as well… in moderation. Soon, Rylen will be old enough for role play, I cannot wait but by then my leave (off once a week at least) will be over and I’ll only be able to be a part of  it during the weekends :(.

Some days I can’t wait for Jordan to turn 1 and walk, so we can go out more but I know I’m gonna miss my little lump of cute-ness but to be able to cycle at East Coast, Ubin, Changi etc… soon soon.

I think as long as the parents take the time to bring them to the playground instead of letting them use the computer, take them outdoors instead of playing on the Wii. Realise that TVs are not babysitters (I know easier said than done)… we all have to try. There is nothing worse than a lard ass child or a fat pet… cos that’s the parents fault and frankly it’s mean. Using TV, computers and iPads as forms to entertainment instead of ‘forcing’ them to see what’s around them (you know the kid in the stoller on his Dad’s iPad at the park or in Toys R Us, WTH?) is myopic. It entertains now and one day they’ll be that annoying rude teenager who sits at the dinner table with earphones on… I, for one cannot tolerate that.

One thought on “Take Me To The Playground!

  1. I agree with you! It’s often the parents who should be responsible for this.

    Think we try to blind ourselves that the kids are playing “educational” games on iPhone/iPad and “educational” programs on TV. We are trying to limit TV time to 30min a day, and no iphone at all except “emergency”. But ya, at times, it’s too convenient to use TV as the babysitter 😦

    The saddest thing to see, to me, is when every family member is playing with their own electronic gadget while dining in a restaurant 😦

Leave a Reply

